Speaking of Bread…

David and I have a great relationship.  I’m telling you this in case you’re my mom and are about to read the following and have a panic attack about my marriage.  It’s fine.  There’s just one thing: David and I CANNOT work together on any project that requires any amount of decision-making.  You see, we both have a baaad case of “I know everything, you know nothing” which can create some….tension while attempting to accomplish things.  The first time we realized this was when we first got married and were a little poor (ha! “were”-who am I kidding!) and we had to buy EVERY SCRAP of our furniture from IKEA.  Those of you who have IKEA furniture realize the task that lay before us: assembling 37,000 bits of mdf, screws, cams, pegs, etc with the aid of smiling stick figures (MOCKING YOUR IDIOCY) and the most minimalistic line drawings EVER.  We are talking at least 12 unassembled pieces of furniture that I can name off the top of my head.  I will spare you the nasty details of the smarter-than-you brawls that ensued.  Suffice it to say that the only piece we did together was the only thing that was physically impossible to do alone (ie our bed, THE SYMBOL OF MARITAL LOVE AND UNITY…oh the irony).

Which brings me to my recent observation: In the face of crippling personality defects, we are making significant headway in this area!  Case in point: We had such a wonderful bread-baking experience on Sunday that we’ve decided to make it a weekly tradition.  We used this recipe from allrecipes.com because it was the simplest one that we could find.  I don’t even have a funny anecdote to relay because everything went PERFECTLY-I let him stir, he let me knead-we were like the freaking INGALLS’!  And it really was easy!  Honestly, I think all the intimidation about bread-baking is just a ploy to get you to spend $4.29 a loaf at the supermarket.  The only difficult thing about it is the waiting.  It had to rise 3 times and each time took about 30 min., plus it had to bake for 30 min., so we are talking a 2 hour+ time commitment.  That’s okay for us, though because:

1.  We have no money, so where would we go anyway?

2.  The perfect opportunity to get a couple loads of laundry done!

3.  Trust me, it’s worth it in the end.

3 Responses to “Speaking of Bread…”


  1. 1 Anna October 15, 2008 at 8:10 pm

    That is totally not your bread! You must have taken the photo from Bon Appetit, if not, I am so proud of you. Now you have a job at Thanksgiving.

  2. 2 DP October 16, 2008 at 12:23 pm

    I tasted it. It was good bread. Just like Au Bon Pain.

  3. 3 hasenfefferinc October 16, 2008 at 6:13 pm

    I resent the insinuation that I falsified a picture. From my own mother!! I went through great pains to bring my camera TO WORK, plug it in and STEALTHILY upload pictures to this website. I will, however, be happy to prove our breadmaking skeeelz at Thanksgiving.


Leave a Reply

