Cooking is a violent act.

Right on the heels of our previous avian massacre comes this disturbing sight:

I know, I know, that’s not a bird (some might say it looks like something else entirely…Raven), but here’s how this went down:

 

[insert law and order sound effect here]

 

It all started with butternut squash soup. David was leaving for some school thing, so I thought I’d start making it while he was gone.  While I was prepping the ingredients for said soup, David casually observed, “That squash looks just like a goose; and you cutting its head off like that is really gross.”  And then he left. 

 

I KNOW.

 

So I had just cut off the head of this thing so that I could stuff it into the MICROWAVE, but before that, I had to STAB IT ALL OVER WITH A FORK. And the plan was to then REMOVE ITS SKIN. I’m freaking myself out all over again. 

 

Also, here’s something I wasn’t really prepared for:

 

 

I just didn’t realize that butternut squash had guts like that.

 

So anyway, the soup came out really good, so here is the recipe:

 

1 medium sized, goose shaped butternut squash

1 yam

2 new potatoes or 1 regular sized one

1 or 2 carrots

1 onion

2 apples

Chicken or vegetable stock

½ cup milk

1 bay leaf

¼ cup sugar (although it just occurred to me that brown sugar might be better)

Cinnamon, nutmeg, salt and pepper to taste

Sour cream

Fresh parsley

 

Cut up all the veggies and the apples  into cubes and throw them into the crock pot, then add the dry spices and sugar.  The squash is easier to peel if you stab it all over with a fork, then stick it in the microwave for 30 seconds or so.  Pour in chicken stock until it comes about ¾ of the way up the veggies. 

 

Put your crock pot on low and let it go all the live-long day.  When you get home from work, use your immersion blender to puree it all up and add the milk if you want it to be a bit more creamy (we did).  Taste it and season as needed.

 

Serve with a dollop of sour cream and a sprinkle of parsley.  This was so good with the fresh bread, too.  Yummy.

 

Makes 4,000 servings, but freezes well.

1 Response to “Cooking is a violent act.”


  1. 1 Anna October 20, 2008 at 9:48 pm

    Martha…….is that you! Are you turning into a domestic diva? Who would have thought. The soup looks marvelous and I am anxious to try it.


Leave a Reply

