Did I mention that I caught a cold while I was there?

I apologize for leaving the blog virtually unattended for an entire week without warning.  I especially apologize to the strangers who came across this site by accident, and then checked back, figured it was defunct, and will never return.  The thought torments me. 

 

There is a reason for my absence, though.  I was on a business trip (very grown-up of me, I think) to Atlanta for four looooong days last week.  I had to drive there with a virtual stranger which allowed me to experience repeated anxiety attacks for the 4 days leading up to the event resulting in 8 full days of dread and unease.  Luckily, I did not have the added pressure of actually driving, since my driver’s license was stolen from me about 2 years ago and I haven’t yet gotten a new one. I will emphasize here that, although I do not have a DRIVER’S LICENSE, I am a LICENSED DRIVER, okay? So it’s not really all that illegal what I’m doing here. 

 

At any rate, after our tense descent into Atlanta via the 37 lane highway, I was able to regroup by watching CABLE TV (oh, how I have missed you) while in bed and by knitting (more on that in a second).

 

There is only one interesting outcome from this trip: I ate my first meal in a revolving restaurant.  I know, it sounds cheesy, but I maintain that this experience was every bit as magnificent as it was disorienting.  The restaurant was called “The Sundial” and was located on the 72nd floor of the Westin (home of the heavenly bed. No, we did not stay there. Booo).  The idea is that you make one full rotation every hour, which I verified by cell phone clock.  This is not really how a sundial works, but whatever.  The food was overpriced, but I didn’t mind because it was so good. 

 

 

So on the awkward, 7 hour ride home, I knitted the Urchin hat from Knitty.com.  Even though it required the dreaded crochet cast-on, and the new territory of “wrap and turn”, it was very easy and fun to knit (once I worked out some pattern discrepancies) and as an added benefit, it came out really cute, but you’ll just have to trust me on that one, since I gave it away before I could take pictures.  Oh, I could show you the other one I made, but then there will be pressure to wear it, and I don’t think I ever will, so I’ll just have to make another one, I guess. But Raven made one as soon as she saw mine, so she can take pictures of hers and post it. So I am officially turned back on to knitting, which is good because I have promised a neck snuggly to a certain bearded bike seller in exchange for labor leading to a new (old) Schwinn with a headlight! I found the perfect pattern, bought and frogged the perfect wool and acrylic blend goodwill sweater, and am ready to try my hand at cabling.  You heard me. 

0 Responses to “Did I mention that I caught a cold while I was there?”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

