A Keeneland Wedding

A Keeneland Wedding

A Keeneland Wedding

Donnie’s brother and his new wife came to visit two weekends ago. We (meaning Donnie, David, Jillian, and Raven) took them to Keeneland for a fun day of racing. The weather was beautiful, although I was cold (I still have not mastered the art of layering clothes).

Anyway, between the races and a frightening excursion into claustrophobia inducing crowds all for four dollar nachos, A WEDDING TOOK PLACE! Not on the lovely Keeneland grounds, but right behind us in the stands! Crazy, huh? Donnie took a picture to document the big moment and then we resumed the nacho eating.

I also attempted, with the help of my sister-in-law, Becca, to make homemade French bread for the first time ever. I was very proud of this attempt, although I never knew kneading (don’t you love alliteration) could be so hard. The bread turned out very well and the recipe was easy. Just 2 (cups, teaspoons, tablespoons, etc.) of different ingredients. Unfortunately, I lost the recipe shortly after making the bread.

The bread

The bread

Because this venture was so successful, I went to the library and checked out a lovely bread book. After looking through the recipes I realized that I would never, ever, ever, in a million years be able to make any of them. They are for People Not Like Me. People Not Like Me are people who don’t mind kneading dough for hours and who can make their bread come out in the shape of weird things like trees and mushrooms (these were real recipes in the book!).

I’ve got to find that easy recipe.

3 Responses to “A Keeneland Wedding”


  1. 1 hasenfefferinc October 30, 2008 at 8:12 pm

    You underestimate yourself! I’m sure that you could make a bread masterpiece. I am in a bread-making slump due to some too-wheaty-big-doughy-underdone-middle incident last weekend. We’ll try again on Sunday. See you tonight!

  2. 2 Jami Young November 8, 2008 at 7:43 pm

    OK – I have nothing to say about the bread-making part of this entry… except that I enjoy eating it. Bread, much like baking, is a waste of my time. I like cooking… there’s a big difference (to me anyway). With baking, there’s too much waiting involved. Plus, you have to be so precise. Cooking is my favorite. You can deviate from recipes to your heart’s content and there’s not as much waiting involved…
    Also – Raven (Jillian, I’m guessing this wasn’t you…), if you need advice on layering clothes… give me call. they call me “Layer Girl” at work… no joke! Maggie is pretty skilled at it as well. My big fashion rule goes as follows: Texture, Sparkle, Color and Flare. I.e. each outfit must have those 4 elements to work. Texture: Make sure to mix materials… don’t go jersey knit for everything. If you have a cotton shirt on, wear a corderoy or cable-knit jacket/cardigan over it. (And make sure they’re different lengths. Sparkle: Jewelry, broches, sparkley scarves, etc. Make sure something shines and sparkles in your outfit. Color: Have fun with it. You can mix purple and green, orange and blue, black and brown – if you do it the right way. Color is important. Flare: Always put your own personal flare to an outfit. I like hats and head scarves, antique jewelry, biker boots, comfy scarves and artsy t-shirts from threadless.com – make your outfit your own. Whew… I got carried away…

  3. 3 hasenfefferinc November 10, 2008 at 4:34 pm

    Jami,
    Raven and I were discussing your Theory of Layering yesterday and found it to be very helpful (you were right, though: Raven is the one having some issues with appropriate cold-weather attire).

    David and I (mostly David) have been baking a lot of bread lately and, although it is incredibly time consuming, you get many benefits, which I will outline in a future post.

    We love and miss you and wish you would move back here!!
    Jillian


Leave a Reply

