One leg is still freezing.

This is what Wikipedia (oh, I love you) tells me about passive-aggressive behavior. I have added some thoughts in bold.

One leg warmer

One leg warmer

Passive-aggressive behavior refers to passive, sometimes obstructionist resistance to following through with expectations in interpersonal or occupational situations. It can manifest itself as learned helplessness, procrastination, stubbornness, resentment, sullenness, or deliberate/repeated failure to accomplish requested tasks for which one is (often explicitly) responsible. It is a defense mechanism, and (more often than not) only partly conscious. For example, suppose someone does not wish to attend a party (OR NOT COMPLETING A PAIR OF LEG WARMERS). A passive-aggressive response in that situation might involve taking so long to get ready that the party is nearly over by the time they arrive (OR NOT FINISHING THE LEG WARMERS UNTIL THE SPRING).

Just some food for thought.


3 Responses to “One leg is still freezing.”


  1. 1 Jami Young November 8, 2008 at 7:19 pm

    Ok – I definitely do have passive aggressive tendencies… and unless you were trying to get back at someone (i.e. whomever you were making the warmers for) than I’m not sure how it would be considered passive-aggressive-ism. Maybe I should read some more blog entries to get up-to-date on this…

  2. 2 hasenfefferinc November 10, 2008 at 1:38 pm

    Well, well.. now who’s being passive aggressive?? I will have you know that, after reading this blog, David guilted me into finishing that leg warmer last night–he even threaded the needle for me! So now it’s done (finally–it’s only taken 3 months).

  3. 3 ravenpiercey November 10, 2008 at 1:49 pm

    Woohoo! I’m so excited and I apologize for any passive-aggressiveness on my part.


Leave a Reply

