If you want to destroy my sweater…I’ll hate you forever.

My knitting has come a long way in the past year or so and I just want to bask in that for a little while. 

 

So now that I’m an awesome knitter, I’m making a sweater.  “A baby sweater?” you ask. No, Internet, not a baby sweater.  A real live grown-up sweater. Well almost.  You see, I have some issues with gauge.  I start out really tight, but then my finger gets tired, so I loosen up, then I feel like a bad knitter and tighten back again, lather, rinse, repeat.  Due to this little hang-up, I would have to knit, oh about 7 sleeves before getting two that matched, and there would be a lot of swearing and possibly tearing up during that process.  So to avoid all that heartache, I am knitting a sweater vest!  See what a genius I am?  A sweater with NO PROBLEMATIC SLEEVES!  Ha!

 

Won’t that be so cute over EVERYTHING??  I have waited to share this project with you because I wasn’t sure if it would induce my hyperfocus powers, but I have already finished the back and I’m still going strong, so I’m pretty confident that this Work-In-Progress is destined to become a Finished Object. 

 

In other news, I knitted a waffley thermal hat for David out of that olive green Malabrigo.  I actually reminisced about this yarn just now, that’s how splendid it is.  We had a passionate knitting love affair, involving a great deal of stupid grinning and heavy petting.  The hat is so incredibly soft that David has to remind me that rubbing it all over my face while out in public is maybe not as socially acceptable as I apparently thought it was.  Go figure.

 

In other other news, I am currently knitting another hat in a different, much less cushy yarn for a friend’s birthday.  Yarn that I do not have any sort of crush on.  I chose this pattern for its nifty decreases at the crown—hope it turns out!  This particular friend is sort of obsessed with All Things French, so we will be making him Ratatouille.  My knowledge of Ratatouille is limited to what was covered in the cartoon movie, so unless I am guided by an overweight CGI French chef ghost, we’ll have to find a more credible recipe somewhere else.

3 Responses to “If you want to destroy my sweater…I’ll hate you forever.”


  1. 1 Andrea January 15, 2009 at 3:26 pm

    I am so copying that vest.

  2. 2 hasenfefferinc January 15, 2009 at 3:34 pm

    It’s a really easy pattern–just A LOT of stockinette. Good TV knitting.


  1. 1 Dear Prudence… « Hasenfeffer Incorporated Trackback on March 13, 2009 at 8:28 am

Leave a Reply

