What Raven is reading…

Hello, Internet.
It’s me, Raven. I’m back. I know you thought that I was never ever coming back, but here I am. I have been away because being in a doctoral program has not been conducive to me being able to knit, sew, crochet (I’m learning), cook, or clean my house (sorry, husband).

Instead, I have decided to start posting about every book I read this year. I tried to do this last year by recording all of my readings in a spiral notebook, but in our move it was lost (this was in August). I was devastated because I love, love, love making lists – and this was a great list. It makes me think that when I have children I’ll make a list of every single book they ever read and give it to them as a present. This might just confirm for them that they have a crazy mother.

Book # 1

The Name of the Rose – Umberto Econameoftherose2

This book was recommended to me by my friend J.P.* He said it was great, but it was slow. He was right about the slow part. The story was good – monks, abbeys, murder, heresy, etc., but there were way too many philosophical and historical conversations that took up the majority of the book. I kept thinking, “Shut up, let someone else get murdered!”

Overall, I would give Umberto a “C” for this book.

*This friend was also the friend (along with K.P.) who recommended Flannery O’Connor and said she was the best thing since sliced bread. They were both WRONG. She was not the best thing since sliced bread, she was the worst thing since sliced bread.

Note to self – be cautious about the book recommendations of J.P. and K.P.

2 Responses to “What Raven is reading…”


  1. 1 Andrea February 6, 2009 at 3:49 pm

    If you keep your book list posted on the side of your blog, you can’t lose it. DO IT. I did.

  2. 2 ravenpiercey February 6, 2009 at 3:55 pm

    This is a great idea, Andrea!


Leave a Reply

