Yes, that picture was taken in my office. Yes, I am shameless.

There hasn’t been much action around here lately and that is because the sweater vest project has stalled and I’ve been too ashamed to admit it to the Internet. I finished the back panel last week and haven’t yet begun the front because in order to do that, I will have to cast on 126 stitches.  Have I ever mentioned how much I hate casting on?  When you rely on inertia to complete projects like I do, it’s not easy to get started.  Well, here’s the finished back, for whatever it’s worth…

 

sweater1

 

Also, can I say something about knitting in public?  It is not a performance and your staring is making me uncomfortable.  I gave you the opportunity to not be creepy when I made eye contact with you and smiled.  That was your cue to either talk or stop looking at me.  The silent watching is weird.

 

There are a lot of things that I want to knit right now and if I weren’t in the middle of a marathon project, I would have already begun.  I really want to make the Jane Austen Dress from the Mason Dixon book for Ellie. 

 jane-austen-dress

 

That will be a super fast project because you just knit the little bodice and then sew on the skirt, so I think I’ll do that after the sweater vest, since I’ll probably be craving a fast and satisfying project by then. 

 

I also am planning to knit a little something for Auntie Rae’s new little niece/nephew who will be here before we know it.  I have learned my lesson from knitting stuff for Ellie, though—Cotton or Acrylic all the way and no sweaters in newborn sizes—they grow entirely too fast (the babies, not the sweaters).  So I’m thinking a cotton cardigan in a 6-9 month size like this one.

 eyelet-yoke-cardigan

All this means is that, in order to start these fun projects, I have to finish this beast of a sweater vest.  I promise to start the front today! 

3 Responses to “Yes, that picture was taken in my office. Yes, I am shameless.”


  1. 2 Anna February 19, 2009 at 12:14 pm

    If you don’t finish the sweater soon you won’t get a chance to wear it this winter. I love the Ellie dress and the cardigan for Raven’s niece/nephew.

  2. 3 hasenfefferinc February 19, 2009 at 12:57 pm

    Courtney: Are you going to find out if it’s a boy or a girl? I won’t lie, I’m hoping for a girl!

    Mom: I know! I need to finish before March, at least!


Leave a Reply

