“You don’t know me, but…”

I realized that I do have something to blog about (are you supposed to end a sentence with “about”?).

So, I noticed  the other day that I often start conversations with people by saying, “You don’t know me, but….”. I then proceed to share something about myself that most people wouldn’t share with mere acquaintances. I don’t know why I do this, but I do it over and over and over again.

I am trying to have more normal, socially acceptable interactions with people, but IT IS SO HARD.

Case in point:

On Tuesday evening, Jillian, David, Donnie, and I decided to go to Starbucks. I really could not afford Starbucks, so when we arrived I asked the Starbucks Man if I could have my drink for free (Picture Donnie shaking his head in embarrassment).  The  Starbucks Man obliged. He was a very nice Starbucks Man – at first. So, I picked up my drink and began drinking it (Backstory – I had ordered an Apple Chai).  After drinking about a fourth of the drink, the Starbucks Man came to my table to inform me that I was drinking a Peppermint Mocha and not an Apple Chai. I didn’t notice because there was so much whipped cream. I hadn’t even gotten to the mocha part yet. The Starbucks Man then proceeded to make fun of my TASTEBUDS (so did Jillian, David, and Donnie). Naturally, I still wanted my Apple Chai. I asked for my free Apple Chai and the Starbucks Man called me (I am not making this up) – A DRINK-THIEVING HUSSIE!!

Can you believe that? This kind of stuff happens to me all the time.

The End.

Raven

3 Responses to ““You don’t know me, but…””


  1. 1 Courtney Cloud a.k.a. Sister Woman February 19, 2009 at 3:19 pm

    What kind of world do you live in?? Who just goes to Starbucks and says they want their drink for free? How does that happen?? Does it work in other places too?

  2. 2 Andrea February 19, 2009 at 3:50 pm

    Hey, you never know what you’ll get for free unless you ask. At work we sometimes get “jail mail” and I had one this week from an inmate who needed a blessing of a $6,000 donation. Maybe he’ll get it (just not from me, who threw the letter in the trash – are you even allowed to have money in prison?).

  3. 3 hasenfefferinc February 19, 2009 at 3:53 pm

    Ahahaha! What a funny night that was! My favorite part was when you offered to give the Peppermint Mocha back, “I only drank the whipped cream!” Classic.


Leave a Reply

