I have iss-shoes, and other puns.

I am not a shoe lover.  When bonding with female friends in the past, I have pretended that I care about shoes and love shoe shopping and am aware of shoe sales, but I am coming out today as one who is mostly apathetic toward footwear. 

 

That being said, there are certain occasions that get me really excited about shoes.  The first is a yearly event that happens right around the beginning of October.  I will call it the Autumn Moccasin Fever.  This frenzy is an effort to recreate the love I had for my first pair of brown suede moccasins, purchased in the fall of 2004. Every year, I buy a few pairs that I will then wear until they fall apart (which doesn’t take me very long, for some reason.  I am a Shoe Destroyer. Maybe it’s because I’m pigeon-toed?).  Five years and about 10 moccasin attempts later, I still haven’t quite gotten it right. 

 

moccasin

 

The second event that inspires my sporadic shoe obsession is The Wedding. Did you know that the average marrying age in the United States is 26.1 years old?  As it turns out, I am 26.1 years old RIGHT NOW AS I AM TYPING THIS! Naturally, a lot of our friends, both new and old, fall right into this matrimonial age sweet spot. I’m sure you are following my logic here: David and I go to A LOT of weddings.  Luckily, we can’t get enough of them.  Free alcohol, free food, dancing, celebration of love and commitment, a bunch of old friends, opportunities to purchase a new dress and shoes—really, what’s not to like?

 

Getting back to the shoes, this summer, we are invited to no less than 3 weddings. I have already got a new dress that I’ll be able to wear to all three, since the circles of friends will not overlap (can you believe my luck?), so now I just have to buy new shoes.  This makes me very excited, and I’ve begun browsing online for the Perfect Pair. Unfortunately, when you don’t buy a lot of new shoes, the search can be somewhat intimidating.  So I’m asking for help—have you seen a pair of shoes that would go with a navy and white silk vintagy-looking wrap dress?  I’m partial to t-straps.

 

Also: just so you know I’m not lying about starting the front of that sweater—here is proof!

sweater11

3 Responses to “I have iss-shoes, and other puns.”


  1. 1 Nigel Tomm February 20, 2009 at 11:20 am

    I’m Nigel Tomm and I’m not a shoe lover too.

  2. 2 Shoe Carnival February 21, 2009 at 4:58 am

    thanks, your article is very informative.

  3. 3 Andrea February 21, 2009 at 9:37 am

    Thank you for your honesty. I hate shopping in general. I am the person standing at the front of the store waiting for her friend thinking, “dear GOD we’ve been here for TWENTY MINUTES is she going to look at EVERY SINGE ITEM????”

    Online shopping is my savior. I don’t know what kind of shoes you want, but zappos.com and endless.com have a lot of selection AND free overnight shipping. I once ordered a pair at 6pm and received them at 10:30am the next day.


Leave a Reply

