I am greedy

David says I should make a “things I want” feature on this blog.  Although I feel that my entire life could be tagged as such, I’m inclined to do it.  I mean, I have a blog for pete’s sake…how much deeper into the sea of self-importance can I really sink?  Well, I guess we’re about to find out. 

 

 As I mentioned a while back, I’m moving soon.  Again.  Ugh.  Well, not really ugh because I secretly like to move. And this apartment will be the best one ever—even better than the super modern glass-walled condo we’re in now.  Why? Two reasons: Fireplace and Yard.  Also extra attic room with slanty ceilings.  So three reasons.  Whatever. 

 

I say ALL THAT to introduce my first “Things I Want” (maybe there should be a more clever name for this? “I’ll Be Needing That”? No, that’s not really more clever at all.  Oh well.) post.  I will attempt to make these as reasonable as possible (ie not too expensive) and if you want to buy me something from this list, feel free to let me know via comments and I will gladly supply you with my address and contact information—even if you’re a stalker.  I don’t care. 

Like all good Americans, I love tv, but experience a certain amount of shame that I love it so.  A wall mount is the perfect solution because then you can be all “Oh we only watch tv sometimes, so we keep it tucked away in the corner” when your friends are over, then pull it out and watch it for 6 hours straight without having to turn your head.

A faux bois lampshade.  The light fixture in the dining room is ugly.  I will need this to cover it up.  Plus it’s from Etsy, so you can be sure it’s cool and indie.  Just like me.

  coffee-table

For those of you who have seen our current coffee table, I will admit that this is a departure.  That is because this coffee table is made for a Grown Woman who needs space for knitting, netflixes and 4 days worth of wine glasses and dirty dishes.  Obviously, my 22 year old self was not made aware of adequate coffee table dimensions before I bought the tiniest table in the world. 

 bed1

David and I have only once lived in an apartment that did not have a guest room, and yet we have never had a proper guest bed.  My poor parents.  Well, that must end now.  We’re getting a real bed.  You’re welcome, guests.

curtains

This new apartment has a lot more windows than our last few apartments, so we’ll need to get some additional curtains.  These are perfect because, if I had it my way, every surface of our home would be covered in some combination of bird, branch or leaf motifs.  I have a feeling, though, that David will not be so excited about these, so they may not make it.

Well, there you have it.  Mind you, this list is just the first quarter inch or so of the tip of the iceburg, but it’s a start, anyway. 

2 Responses to “I am greedy”


  1. 1 David March 24, 2009 at 1:09 pm

    I feel the need to clarify….

    I recall suggesting a segment for the blog entitled “Things I like…” Not things I WANT! See it takes on an entirely different tone…but I digress.

    In response to this entry:
    The curtains are awesome.
    The coffee table is not what I would expect from you…ever.
    The TV mount…I don’t know how I feel about creating such a homage to the TV.
    The lampshade must be ours! I will add it to my own list of “Things I want”

    ❤ the spouse.

  2. 2 Andrea March 25, 2009 at 12:56 pm

    There is actually a show on the Fine Living Network called “I Want That!” (exclamation point included in title)


Leave a Reply

