Knitting, Cooking, and the Rhino Virus.

Hello there!  As was so kindly pointed out by my sister, I have not blogged in over a week and the Internet demands an update! Well, it just so happens that I have some things to say.

Firstly, if you’ve been following the short life of this blog, you will already know that I’m moving soon!  Although I love to move, I still have a few tattered vestiges of sanity knocking around in my head, so I, like everyone else, hate to pack.  So we’ve been plugging away at packing and, although there is a large pile of crap neatly stacked and well marked boxes in the middle of the apartment, we have not done any of the hard stuff yet (ie clothing and kitchen), so we’ve got a long way to go. 

ALSO, I visited the little yarn shop near the office again and picked up 4 skeins of emerald green and very wooly yarn to make a shalom cardigan for my sister.  It’s 75% done, as I am just finishing my 3rd ball o’ yarn, so that’s coming along nicely.  What’s that?  You want a picture?  Of course you do.

shalom

I have to say that it’s coming out a bit hairy, but hopefully a good rinse and block will calm things down a bit.  It has been floating around my purse for the past month, so it’s been through some abuse. 

On the cooking front, I haven’t really done anything besides make all the old standby meals (fajitas, pasta, chili, curry) over and over again, so not very blogworthy there.  Although I did make a green chicken curry that was pretty darn good, ifIdosaysomyself.  The only change I’d make next time is to not put the limes in the curry itself because I think it made it just a tad bitter.  Next time I’ll just squeeze in the juice.  Maybe also next time, I won’t throw the limes into the oven, causing one to land on the element in the bottom, which David had to bat with a wooden spoon until it fell through the crack of the oven door.  Oops. 

Also contributing to the bloglessness is this darn cold.  Ellie was sick and I basically made out with her the entire time I was in Ohio two weeks ago (you would, too because NO ONE can resist those cheeks!), so now I’m sick.  Go figure.  Ah well, I’m on the upswing now (I’ve been saying that for three days) and I ran out of cough syrup and vicks saturated tissues yesterday, so now I have to get better. 

So there you go sisterfriend.  A blog post.

4 Responses to “Knitting, Cooking, and the Rhino Virus.”


  1. 1 Carrie April 9, 2009 at 7:18 am

    My cardi looks fab. Can’t wait to wear it! I have no idea what “blocking” is, but I’m sure it will bring nothing but good things. Maybe I should read your blog for its educational value instead of just for entertainment – then I might understand the lingo 🙂

  2. 2 Andrea April 9, 2009 at 8:05 am

    I looked at your LYS’s website and I have to say that if I made an appointment for them to open exclusively for me I would feel MAJOR pressure to make a huge purchase. Can you imagine if a customer did that and then didn’t buy a single thing? I would be SO mad.

    Cute sweater – I love the green!

  3. 3 hasenfefferinc April 9, 2009 at 10:52 am

    Andrea: Well, this lady (like all lys owners, I suspect) is a wee bit crazy. She actually referred to some alpaca yarn as “Yarn P*rn” on two separate occasions, so maybe she would just be glad for the company in her shop.

    I would be irate if someone did that to me, though.

    Carrie: Blocking is where you get the finished sweater wet and then lay it out in the shape it should be. I’m told it will magically reconfigure itself into perfection when it dries.

  4. 4 David April 13, 2009 at 1:25 pm

    I love that more and more pics for the blog are taken on your desk at work…. always makes me laugh. That’s why you earn the big bucks…right?
    Happy Anniversary week btw.
    4 yrs baby!

    -the spouse.


Leave a Reply

