Archive for May 13th, 2009

CSA #1

Our first CSA box came yesterday and I, for one, was super excited about it.  We got a huge bag of spinach, a bunch of asparagus, some parsnips and a big chunk of horseradish!  Horseradish!! Can y0u believe that?  Well, I’m going to grate it up, I guess.  David and I don’t eat much beef, which I hear is often served with horseradish sauce, but I am a huge fan of horseradish with potatoes–mashed, twice baked, latkes…yum.  And there’s always bloody mary’s and shrimp cocktails, neither of which I have ANY PROBLEM WITH WHATSOEVER. 

When I got home from work yesterday, I didn’t know what veggies we received yet, so I figured I’d make some pizza dough and whatever we got could top it.  I made a herbed pizza dough and we topped it with leftover spaghetti sauce, tons of grated parm, goat cheese rounds and the CSA cut up asparagus.  It was insanely good.  Here’s how I did it:

I used the herbed pizza dough recipe from this book, or you could use one of the thousands of pizza crust recipes on the internet and add 1/2 tsp each of dried oregano, basil, thyme, rosemary and marjoram. 

  • One cup of freshly grated hard, sharp cheese (provolone, parmeggiano-reggiano, romano)
  • 6 rounds of plain or herbed goat cheese (about 1/4-1/2 inch thick)
  • 1 cup of asparagus, cut into bitesize pieces
  • 3/4 cup of marinara sauce
  • Olive oil
  • garlic powder
  • salt & pepper

Preheat your oven to 450 and put your pizza pan or stone or whatever inside to preheat along with the oven.  Coat the bottom of a pan in olive oil on the stove.  Sautee your asparagus over medium heat with salt, pepper and garlic powder to taste until it turns bright green, but still has some bite to it.

Brush the top of your pizza crust with olive oil and pierce the center with a fork to keep it from bubbling up.  Put it in the oven to pre-bake for about 5-7 minutes or until it is stiff, but not yet brown. 

Remove pizza from oven, top with sauce, grated cheese, asparagus and goat cheese and bake until crust is golden and cheese is melted. 

Lick your fingers, because you know you just used them to smush around that goat cheese.

Spread melty goat cheese around pizza and sprinkle with salt and pepper.

Eat.

 

You may be interested in the lack of pictures in this post.  That is because last night, I dropped my iphone into the toilet and peed on it.  For some reason, it’s not working anymore.  Go figure.


Calendar

May 2009
S M T W T F S
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

So far...

  • 108,187 people have stopped by