Summer Reading

This summer, I plan to read more.  Lately, instead of reading, I’ve been knitting while listening to Selected Shorts, episodes of This American Life, and Librivox audio book recordings.  That will be changing soon, though, because the new house is very close to a small library branch that I plan to ride my bike to throughout the summer.  However, my life is a series of broken commitments, so in the spirit of this lazy season, I accept that I may not actually make it to the library until August.  Or not at all. But wouldn’t that be a waste?  So hopefully, I’ll get there this weekend or something. 

So here are the books I’m planning to read, one at a time, with a generous smattering of knitting breaks so that David doesn’t worry that I’ve lost the ability to speak aloud.

I’ve recently discovered a love for Latin American novels.  There’s this magical element that is incorporated without warning and in a totally normal way, as if it happens all the time.  My first experience with this was on a trip to Boston, where I read Like Water for Chocolate by Laura Esquivel (now one of my all time favorite books) and I thought that the mystical events in that book were specific to her particular style of writing.  A few years later, I read 100 Years of Solitude and Love in the Time of Cholera, both by Gabriel Garcia Marquez, and realized that the flowery and romantic magic of Like Water for Chocolate was not just one author’s trait, but an entire genre!  Score! I’m excited to read more from other Latin American authors this summer–my top three picks are:

 

 

The House on Mango Street, Sandra Cisneros

 

 

 

 

 

 

Dreaming in Cuban, Cristina Garcia

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The Alchemist, Paulo Coelho

 

 

 

 

 

And one Indian author to round out my list: The God of Small Things, Arundhati Roy

 

 

 

 

 

 

Currently, I’m reading A Tree Grows in Brooklyn for the first time and am pretty much enthralled.  I borrowed it from Raven and she told me I’d like it.  She was right. 

So that’s my summer reading list! 

3 Responses to “Summer Reading”


  1. 1 Rosann Hague June 1, 2009 at 10:05 pm

    Jillian,
    I read “A Tree Grows In Brooklyn and long time ago. So very good. Loved it!

  2. 2 hasenfefferinc June 2, 2009 at 6:28 am

    I just finished it last night and I loved it, too!
    ~Jillian

  3. 3 Carrie June 3, 2009 at 7:35 am

    A Tree Grows in Brooklyn is one of my favorites too – I couldn’t put it down! I read Love in the time of Cholera too and really liked it (although I had to keep going back and rereading because I kept getting the characters confused…) Good list! 🙂


Leave a Reply

