Summertime and the Living is Busy.

What a fun summer we’ve been having!  Here’s what we’ve been up to:

photo

photo

photo

A CSA farm tour–we’re now in the middle of summer bounty!  Finishing up with the salad greens and well into squash and corn!  Tomatoes are just around the corner, I can’t wait!!

photo

Hey, guess what?  June was Bike Lexington month!  There were a bunch of fun events for the professional bikers and for the…less professional bikers.  This was the drag race and those are my clothes, but that’s not me (hopefully, that is no surprise to you).

photo

One mildly frustrating, but productive day of sewing with my bff Raven.  She ended up with a super cute top that she has actually worn  outside of her house (although I don’t think she’s actually washed it–we do not push our luck around here)!!  Today, we made cardigans a la Angry Chicken, which were a lot more agreeable because we are awesome at cutting, but not so great at sewing.

photo

Eating these cookies.  Usually, the box is half empty by the time we get back from Whole Foods.

photo

Eating.  A lot.  But luckily, it’s mostly healthy.  Okay, this sandwich wasn’t the most healthy thing and neither are those cookies, but mostly, it’s good stuff.  I love the way toast on a sandwich makes the top of my mouth sort of raw.  It reminds me of soup and sandwich dinners at home with my mom.

photo

Riding MY NEW BIKE!  Now, I want you to re-read the phrase “my new bike” but say it like the announcer on Price is Right, because that’s the kind of enthusiasm this bronzed beauty deserves.  Do it.  Isn’t this the most lovely bicycle EVER?  What should I name it?

photo

Discovering and eating the best pancakes ever.  Here’s some simple math for you: this recipe made 14 and we split them evenly between the two of us.  How many did we each eat?  Like I said, we are eating HEALTHY.

photo

I hope you are having a great summer as well!

5 Responses to “Summertime and the Living is Busy.”


  1. 1 Anna July 18, 2009 at 9:08 am

    Now I am very hungry. Can you come over and make some pancakes for us? Love the Bike, since it is vintage I would name it with that time in mind. How about Florence, good name and you loved the city. Maybe Molly or Rusty if you feel it’s more masculine

  2. 2 hasenfefferinc July 18, 2009 at 4:34 pm

    Florence is a GREAT name! I could call her Flo or Flossie, too!

  3. 3 Carrie July 18, 2009 at 9:29 pm

    Ellie wonders if you have looked at the underside to determine whether your bike is a boy or a girl. she is of the opinion that your bike is a boy (don’t ask me how she knows this) and she thinks you should name him Ferguson, because that somehow seems like an orange-y name.

  4. 4 Rosann July 18, 2009 at 11:06 pm

    Bonnie…you should name the bike Bonnie!

  5. 5 hasenfefferinc July 19, 2009 at 7:02 pm

    Well, I think on bikes, it’s a girl bike if that middle bar dips down, but it’s a boy bike if the bar goes straight across, you know? If that’s the case, my bike is definitely a lady. 🙂


Leave a Reply

