Christmas 2009 Gift Update

I don’t want you to think that I’ve been slacking on my Christmas knitting duties–I’ve finished a couple more things to add to the pile.

photo

This is a slouchy little hat I made on the way to Myrtle Beach a couple weeks ago.  It only took a three hours, which was a shame because I was counting on it to take up a bit more car-time than that–it’s the only time I’ve ever wished a project took longer!  It’s a very forgiving pattern (Star Cross’d Beret) in my most favorite yarn (malabrigo) and was a pleasure to knit up!

photo

This is a pair of fingerless mitts to match the hat.  It was another one day project and was a lot of fun to knit up. They are a little more fitted than the green ones, which is sort of nice.  The colorway of the yarn is called “Paris Night”.  I think it’s an extremely lovely name for this purpley-blue color.

photo

Finally, this little fella came together over this past weekend.  Isn’t he cute?  I used the Mr. Dangly pattern (isn’t that name a little….I don’t know….strange?).  I’m calling him Ollie.  He’ll be for Ellie Belly this Christmas.

I’ve also finished an entire sweater for my mom, but I haven’t blocked it yet, so it looks a little wonky right now.  I’ll get a decent picture up soon, though.

I’m so proud of myself for all the progress I’ve made!  I just have a few more things to do and then I’ll be ready for the holidays–and it’s only July!!

2 Responses to “Christmas 2009 Gift Update”


  1. 1 Andrea July 20, 2009 at 8:15 am

    We’re going to have such relaxing Decembers – more time for making and scarfing cookies, if you ask me 🙂 Everything looks so good. I especially love the toy monkey!

  2. 2 hasenfefferinc July 20, 2009 at 10:08 am

    I know–this December is going to be a cake-walk! The monkey is cute, but it was not an enjoyable knit for me–SO much casting on and seaming, ugh. Also, his arms and legs looked a little obscene before they were stuffed, if you know what I mean 😉


Leave a Reply

