Tomayto Tomahto

Ah the tomato soup.  Behold:

photo

You know, I never liked tomato soup as a child, but I’ve found that almost everything I hated as a kid, I love now, except for cooked cabbage, which still disgusts me because it smells like a fart.

You can get this recipe from the Splendid Table’s How to Eat Supper.  Speaking of Splendid Table, I realized this past weekend that weekend NPR shows are like grownup Saturday morning cartoons.  My favorite thing to do on a Saturday morning is to stay in bed with a cup of tea and listen to Car Talk, Wait Wait…Don’t Tell Me!, and Splendid Table all in a row, and then to catch parts of Prairie Home Companion and This American Life  a bit later.  I think a lot of people miss out on this peaceful and special weekend activity because they believe that NPR is for liberals only.  Conservatives of the World! These shows will not offend you! They are safe for you and your children to listen to!

Anyhoo, let’s talk about the way poor people (aka me) decorate.  At our last apartment, David and I nailed books to wall and stuck this decal to wall behind our dining room table.  At our current apartment, we had not really decorated all that much, but last weekend, we stumbled upon a rummage sale at UK’s Art Museum and picked up several oldish frames for about $10 or so and decided to hang them artily on the wall, just like Anthropologie does (so many disappointments in my life begin this way.), so we hung them, but decided it looked a bit blank (shocking, I know).  So we traced lines around their insides and painted them blue (obviously).

photo

Still to blank, we thought, so we dug out our old books and nailed them somewhat randomly inside the frames.  Just right–I seriously love it.  It’s like little windows cut out of the wall that look out over floating books.

pics

So what do you think…cute or weird? Or both?  I think probably both…

4 Responses to “Tomayto Tomahto”


  1. 1 David August 6, 2009 at 3:32 pm

    A few thoughts from the husband/spouse/partner….
    -I love the frames and books.
    -I love them because they are weird and cool all at the same time.
    -Where is the info about my pound cake exploration? (I have baked two pounds cakes in one week people! Can you tell I am on summer break)
    -I am baking bread today, from a new recipe.
    -I love you.

  2. 2 Rosann August 6, 2009 at 10:59 pm

    That looks great. And does David eat his tomato soup with a straw!!!!!

  3. 3 Dad P August 7, 2009 at 6:49 am

    For now on there will be no going out to eat when you guys come up. We will sit and watch you cook us a fantastic meal topped by an even more fantastic dessert.

  4. 4 hasenfefferinc August 8, 2009 at 1:50 pm

    We’d love to cook for you guys! We’ll have to plan something for when we come up for Ellie’s birthday.


Leave a Reply

