Progress Notes

I didn’t realize how much stuff I’ve knitted since the last update until I hauled it all out to photograph it this morning.  I must say, I impressed even myself.  Here are the goods:

*Note: All the patterns are from  ravelry, so if you’re not a member, I don’t think you can see them 😦

Transformer Mitts: Fingerless gloves in disguise.
Yarn: Cascade 220
Color: 9938 (Evergreen)
Pattern: Urban Necessity Gloves

photo
photo
photo

Matching Fingerless Gloves and Swirly Hat:
Yarn: Berroco Ultra Alpaca
Color: Potting Mix
Pattern: Toasty (gloves) / Noro Hat

photo
photo

Summer Tank Top for Ellie:
Yarn: Peaches & Cream
Colors: Ecru & Peacock
Pattern: Winged it…

photo

Curvy Cardi:
Yarn: Lamb’s Pride Bulky
Color: Olive (it is much more green than these pictures show)
Pattern: Raspberry Layers

photo
photo
This one needs to be blocked and I still have to add a narrow seed stitch collar, just to finish off the neck, but in my mind, it’s pretty much done.

Isn’t that a lot of knitting?? I also just finished the main body of another sweater for another lovely lady, so I’ll be showing that one as soon as I finish the sleeves and ribbing.

Also, there’s been a lot of baking in the house lately because David is between classes right now, so he is going stir crazy at home. If it were me at home all day, I would have found something much less productive to fill up my time (like a private ALF marathon), but David has been cleaning and baking like a madman.

This humble loaf was my favorite baked good of this binge. It’s a “lighter, airy pound cake“, which is ironic because it calls for 2 sticks of butter.
photo

Less successful was my Pavlova. It tasted like a stale, vinegary marshmallow. I know you’re mouths are watering right now. David even felt like it deserved a trip to the Discount Liquor Store to get some pink champagne, which cost about $2 and was a good match for this blackberry/lemon curd filled crater:
photo

Luckily, I am just trashy enough to scrape the lemon curd and blackberry topping off the top of the pavlova before I threw it into the trash can. Then I put it on the pound cake.

Perhaps the most disappointing dessert of the bunch was a crepe gateau that was good, but not worth the two day long prep time that the recipe required
photo

I’ve been enlisted to make the cake for my niece’s first birthday and I’m thinking of this strawberry one from Smitten Kitchen, which was also the source for both the pound cake and the crepe cake (for which I forgive her because it was the first bad thing we’ve ever made from that site). It will have purple icing, because if you’re going to have a child smash food all over herself, it might as well be pretty food.

1 Response to “Progress Notes”


  1. 1 Rosann August 14, 2009 at 8:24 pm

    Oh boy…I’d better not look at this Blog. But it’s my favorite one!


Leave a Reply

