Back in the swing

I’m back!

Oh, wait, did I not tell you I was leaving?

Oops, my bad.

Well, if you must know, I was extremely busy sailing the high seas on the Queen Mary II, with David, my mother-in-law, and my trusty room steward Larry, who didn’t even bat an eye when I asked for a frozen chocolate bomb, a club sandwich, a caprese salad, an egg salad sandwich, an order of fries and a cup of tea at 3am (and, lord love him, he asked if that was all I wanted as if he worried that wouldn’t be enough).

photo

We sailed out of NYC and spent the entirety of Labor Day weekend becoming less and less satisfied with our real lives. It was glorious.

But, now I’m back. I did get a bit of knitting done over the last week or so–not much, be enough to write a blog so that my adoring fans (mom) will be subdued.

photo

Look at these! Fingerless gloves! Now, I know what you are thinking “Another pair of fingerless gloves, huh? Seriously? You are becoming quite the one trick pony aren’t you?” First of all, that’s hurtful. Secondly, fingerless gloves have three very attractive factors: 1. They are cool. B. They knit up quickly and III. They are fun to do.

[On a side note, don’t my fingers look shiny in this pic?  I don’t know what the deal is with that]

These are for my beautiful cousin, Leah, who just started college (omg) as an Opera major. She gave us a tour of her campus a couple weeks ago, and showed us the practice rooms where she’ll be spending hours a day singing and playing piano. They are in the basement of a building not far from her dorm. I thought that commute and those chilly rooms might benefit from some knitted love–and with fingerless gloves, she can keep warm and play at the same time! Here are the specs:

Pattern: Cabled Fingerless Gloves
Yarn: Vanna’s Choice Solid (washability was very important for this one)
Needles: US size 4

Look what else I made:

photo

Aren’t these the sweetest little baby socks ever? I just love them! My boss’s daughter just had twins–one boy, one girl–and, well, you know that knitters live for babies, right? Exactly, so I really had no choice. I would like to make little matching hats for them, but I think I may have run out of steam on this project, so the socks will have to do.

Pattern: Jimmy’s Baby Bootie Set
Yarn: Sublime Organic Cotton dk
Needles: US size 4 dpn’s

Well, dearies, that is just about all that’s been happening around here. This weekend, Raven and I plan to watch about 17 hours of So You Think You Can Dance and also the latest episode of Glee, so I’m sure some knitting will get done at some point. I’m working on a pair of worsted weight knee socks for David (winter biking means one leg will be exposed to the cold), so I’ll check in with progress on those next week.

2 Responses to “Back in the swing”


  1. 1 Anna September 23, 2009 at 4:03 pm

    I love the gloves, hope there’s a pair for me somewhere.


  1. 1 A couple things… « Hasenfeffer Incorporated Trackback on October 25, 2010 at 5:56 pm

Leave a Reply

