Three’s a Crowd

I have had some extremely successful knitting projects come off the needles lately, including, I know you’ll be shocked to hear: my very first, 100% mistake free finished object. It must be hard for you to believe that every other project I’ve posted about has flaws because I’m sure they look perfect here. Let me tell you a secret which is no longer a secret because it’s on the Internet: knitting is a forgiving craft in which mistakes are not immediately obvious, and also I purposely take pictures to make things look better than they are. Messy seam? Just put that in the back. One glove/sock is a bit smaller than the other? Some gentle blocking will fix that up later–let’s just put it closer to the camera for now (perspective is a funny thing). Whole project is a hot mess? let’s just photograph it from far away. No one will eeeever notice.

Anyway, let me show you my last three finished objects and see if you can guess which one is perfect and which are janky:

1. Wolf in Sheep’s Clothing (I am so clever with this name)

  • Pattern: Darling Darby Sweater
  • Yarn: Patons Classic Wool
  • Colorway: Harvest

photo
btw–is Maxwell getting cuter or is it just me?

2.  My First Shawl (admittedly a less clever name)

  • Pattern: Peasant Shawl
  • Yarn: Auracania  Ararcaunia Araucania Ranco Multy (really, this took me three tries before I broke down and looked it up)
  • Colorway: 319

photo
This is the pic while it was blocking last night–I’ll put up a nice finished one at some point in the future.

And finally…

3. Applewood Meret – This one is all about the yarn.  I’ve been loving this particular color of Malabrigo for, oh about a year (why I didn’t buy it before is a mystery–it’s only $10) and finally bought it because it was discontinued and this was the last hank.  I loooove the color–it’s like flesh, but in a good way.

  • Pattern: Meret (Mystery Beret)
  • Yarn: Malabrigo Merino Worsted
  • Colorway: Applewood

photo

Can you guess which is perfect?

1 Response to “Three’s a Crowd”


  1. 1 Courtney C. October 26, 2009 at 9:09 pm

    Maxwell is the cutest thing ever! I love his sweater!


Leave a Reply

