I take it back–he’s not getting cuter.

I love my dog, really, but he can just be so very disappointing sometimes.

Case in point: Yesterday, while I was happily blogging about how cute he is, Maxwell was busy escaping from the $90, brand spanking new crate we got for him and tearing up the guest room. People! He pulled the steel door backwards into the crate somehow. This freaks me out because last time I checked, MAXWELL DOES NOT HAVE HANDS. So probably just as I was uploading pics of my brand new and very first knitted shawl, he was peeing on it. Then he went on to throw up, eat a piece of chocolate that he found god knows where, and pull my makeup bag off the table and onto the bed so that he could more easily rifle through it. Ugh.

Anyway, I have recently become obsessed with knitting a cardigan that zips up. It seems to me that shoddily-sewn-on buttons are choking hazards for babies, and since shoddily is the only way I know how to sew, I have to eliminate buttons as much as possible for the next few years on ellie clothes. Enter alternate fasteners: hook and eye-don’t like them, snaps: also need to be sewn on (see above), zippers…..awesome. So I’m sewing a zipper onto a cardi that I knitted up over the weekend and it’s super cute because it’s purple. Look!

photo
Ignore the poor picture quality, I’m at work and can’t really mess with lighting and sunshine. I’ll worry about that when it’s finished.

For now, focus on the cuteness of the halfway-sewn-in zipper!

4 Responses to “I take it back–he’s not getting cuter.”


  1. 1 Andrea October 28, 2009 at 7:40 am

    V. impressive – I am intimidated by zippers in fabric, much less knits!

  2. 2 Anna October 29, 2009 at 1:11 pm

    Love the new projects. Good to see Maxwell is being a well behaved doggie….not. You are the best blogger. It makes me laugh to read about what is floating around in that head of yours.

  3. 3 Ellie's momma November 2, 2009 at 3:45 pm

    Please, please PUH-LEASE tell me that supercute and zippy sweater is for Miss Ellie!!!! She will love opening that for Christmas (ok, who are we kidding – we all know she will enjoy the paper and box way more than the sweater, but her momma will be happy!)

  4. 4 hasenfefferinc November 2, 2009 at 4:13 pm

    In my world, there is only one baby worthy of the zippy sweater, and I think we all know who that most awesomely lucky baby is. (of course it’s for Ellie!!!)


Leave a Reply

