We need a little Christmas

Christmas is next week.  Next week.  N e x t.  W e e k.  Oh my.

Well, all those unfinished objects from last week are slowly but surely becoming finished projects.  David and I have decorated the house and listened to carols and bought gifts for eachother and watched Christmas specials and enjoyed egg nog etc. etc. etc. But for some reason, no matter what I do, I just can’t get caught up in that holiday mood yet.  There has been some added stress this year, what with the extra job and the general job-hating that’s been going on (luckily, I can see a glimmer of light at the end of the tunnel for that one), but really, is that a good reason? 

We’re going to my parents’ house for Christmas this year, so I’m hoping that being home, seeing all the decorations of my childhood (what is left of them anyway, many have gone the way of my favorite Ms. Green Pompon Head ornament, may she rest in peace), watching White Christmas with my dad, and eating my mom’s food will bring back that festive feeling.  We shall see. 

So, about new knitting.  Well, the pile of knitted Christmas stuff is growing at an alarming rate, and that is because I like the knitting more than I like the finishing, so I continue to merrily cast on for new stuff and ignore all those unwoven ends and unblocked garments.  Hence, a hat for our neighbor, Shannon.

photo

Isn’t that cute? Can you tell those are owls?  The pattern is called Who? and I’m too lazy to link to it. I used a tiny bit of my leftover applewood malabrigo and nearly 1 skein of brown Lamb’s Pride Worsted. I finished this last night and wove in all the ends, and then I sloppily (I did mention the eggnog, right? ahem) embroidered on some owl eyes.  Here’s where we begin with the cheesy-ness: I embroidered blue eyes for David, brown-orange eyes for me, and then skipped 5  owls (to represent the 5 houses between us) and did green eyes for Shannon!!!!  I’m so happy about this, I can’t even tell you.  Maybe that’s all it takes to get into the Christmas spirit.  Owl eyes.

1 Response to “We need a little Christmas”


  1. 1 Andrea December 16, 2009 at 9:08 am

    I think it’s ok to not be in the holiday “mood”. Why does society say we have to feel joyous wonderment every December, anyway? Do you read http://www.pinkofperfection.com? She did a recent post about not feeling the holiday spirit. I like her a lot.


Leave a Reply

