A few of my favorite things

Here I am! Coming out of the holidays is sort of a process for me. There’s the unpacking, the putting away of new stuff, the taking down of the Christmas tree, the house guests, the big party, the resolutions, and then there’s finally just…quiet.

So, last year, most of my resolutions revolved around crafty stuff, and I’m proud to say that all of the things on that list have either been accomplished or no longer matter to me. So, I would call that a success. This year, I only have two resolutions:
1. Start drinking my coffee black. I think this is the most impressive possible way to take your coffee and, as Raven’s husband, Donnie has pointed out to me, makes people more inclined to pour you a cup.
2. Learn to sew without cursing. I think a new machine will be vital to the success of this resolution.

Anyway, Christmas and New Year’s were lovely and, not to sound materialistic or anything, but I got some great stuff. So here are a few of my favorite things from Christmas!

The swift.  This has basically changed my life, Internet.  It has made all my loopy hanks of yarn into lovely, decorative, stackable “yarn cakes”… observe:

Glorious.  Here’s some other favorites:

A vintage martini set from our overly generous neighbor, Shannon

malabrigo sock yarn and my newest project, a hipster scarf.

A new little camera to spare you from the blurry iphone pics

Hope you are having a peaceful new year!

5 Responses to “A few of my favorite things”


  1. 1 christinaslittleworldtwo January 9, 2010 at 3:53 pm

    i like your favorite things. 🙂 i also like the sewing goal. good luck, i couldn’t do it!

  2. 3 Nakiru January 11, 2010 at 4:24 pm

    This is Coral, from college. I LOVE your swift. I too, got one for Christmas, and was so effusive in my excitement that my brother-in-law was later overheard apologizing that he didn’t seem enthusiastic enough about his gifts. Are you on ravelry?

  3. 4 hasenfefferinc January 11, 2010 at 5:16 pm

    Hi Coral!! I, too, am crushing hard on the swift. Why would I want to knit my yarn when I can just wind and re-wind it all day long? What really surprised me, though, was how much David and my father in law loved it.

    You can find me obsessively searching new patterns on Ravelry (mostly during work hours, ahem) under the screen name jillyface.

    Great to hear from you!!

  4. 5 hasenfefferinc January 11, 2010 at 5:19 pm

    Thanks for the sentiment–I have always imagined sewing to be life-changing for me. Then I get about four stitches into my project and a bird’s nest of strings developes on the back of my seam. That’s usually when the cursing starts. Maybe this year I’ll do better.


Leave a Reply

