Lentils, revisited

Thursdays may now officially be Lentil Night at our house.  Last night, I used another recipe from one of my favorite cooking sites 101 cookbooks.  This time for lentil almond stir fry.  Now, stir fry implies something very different from what this meal actually turned out to be, but it was a huge winner nonetheless and we both loved it. 

lentils

The changes I made:

Kroger didn’t have any “marble sized purple potatoes” (I know you’re shocked at this news), so I just used smallish redskin potatoes and cut them into bite sized pieces.  We have no Trader Joe’s here (sigh), so I just used the dry green lentils.  I’m interested in trying out different colored lentils, though because I think they’d look more appetizing.  Also, instead of the yogurt-mint sauce, I used goat cheese and added the juice of 1 1/2 lemons, chopped up mint leaves, s&p, and a splash of olive oil.  It was more of a dip consistency and, come to think of it, would make a really good and easy dip or spread for crostini or something.  You know, at your next cocktail party. 

I also forgot to add the almonds.  Oops!

Some notes about this dish: It’s not very pretty.  Also, when exactly did my tastebuds do a complete 180 degree turn regarding brussels sprouts and dates?  I hated brussels sprouts with a passion as a kid–even the smell made my stomach lurch.  Now I can’t get enough of them.  And Dates!  Hello!  I was (and am) such a sugar fiend–how did I not realize that they are essentially CANDY??  Kids are so stupid, no? 

Anyway, so the lentil obsession continues.  More to come.

0 Responses to “Lentils, revisited”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

