I will never be warm again…

at least not until May.  February is my absolute least favorite month.  It’s all the crap of winter, but none of the festivities of November, December and January.  As a lifelong midwesterner, I should have developed a thicker skin when it comes to the cold and snow, but every year at this time, I follow the same cycle:

1.  Lose hope that winter will ever end

2.  Buy or make something new and springy to combat despair

3.  Start planning a garden

4.  Look outside/Watch a weather report/Get stuck in a snow drift in the driveway

Repeat till mid-May.

So, February sucks, but a few good things have happened this month.  For example: David was accepted into a PhD program here in KY!!  This was a very Big Deal for us as we had pretty much put all our eggs in one basket by only applying to one (fairly competitive) program.  So this was a huge relief, which prompted me to go to our local ReStore and buy David a lovely, mid century-ish desk to replace the small folding table he’s been using. ReStore, in case you are not familiar, is the part of Habitat for Humanity that sells used furniture, building supplies and decor, so the desk was marked $46, but I got it half off for some reason (SCORE!).  A beautiful solid wood desk for only $23 = awesome. 

On the homemaking front, I baked cookies from David Lebovitz’s blog and they were fantastic. 

The caramel filling was a bit complicated and required 2 attempts.  Let me tell you, caramel goes from done to burnt in about .000001 second, so be ready for that.  On the second try, I took it off the heat as soon as it showed a tiny hint of color and, as I stirred in the cream, the residual heat continued to cook it to a classic, creamy caramel brown.  Perfection. 

So, my effort to warm myself through increased biological insulation are going really well.  However, the problem, as we all know too well, is not the adding on of fat, it is its removal.  Well, May has never seemed so far away, so we’ve got plenty of time, right?

4 Responses to “I will never be warm again…”


  1. 1 ozarkhomesteader February 17, 2010 at 3:56 pm

    I understand your feelings about winter and blogged three times this week about similar things: Seasonal Affective Disorder, selecting tomato seeds, and starting seeds. Those last two things get me through the first.
    http://www.ozarkhomesteader.com

  2. 2 mallorymurray February 17, 2010 at 4:02 pm

    OH I love this post and can relate in so many ways. I miss my garden, I miss the sun, I miss wearing comfortable shoes that aren’t snow boots, I miss running outside barefoot in short sleeves ….

    Yeah. However, those amazing looking cookies might make it feel a lot better. . . 🙂

  3. 3 hasenfefferinc February 18, 2010 at 8:36 am

    Thanks for stopping by! I am so ready for those warm days to return!! All in good time, though, I guess. The cookies were pretty helpful, though… 🙂

  4. 4 hasenfefferinc February 18, 2010 at 8:38 am

    Mmmmm tomatoes…. I’ve been scouring seed catalogues trying to decide what kind of tomatoes to grow. Reading the descriptions and seeing the pictures of those giant red, yellow and green fruits has helped me, too! Thanks for commenting!


Leave a Reply

