Backlogged

Hello, friends!  I didn’t mean to put off posting until so late in the week, but here we are, on Friday, wondering where the time has gone…  And then we remember exactly where that time went (workworkwork), and we decide not to talk about that today.  ON TO THE CRAFTS!

In spite of my week-long silence here, I have been very extra crafty lately and have finally found the motivation to start a lot of projects that have been knocking around in the back of my brains for a while now.  This first one I mentioned a while ago–it’s the wooden sign from Apartment Therapy.  I made some changes, though–the first is that mine is not wall sized.  I would have loved to make a giant one, but David was fearful and the supplies would have been a bit too pricey, so I settled on mantle sized and used green instead of black.  Here’s what we came up with:
home is *

These are lyrics from a song by Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeros that has special meaning to David and I since we have never renewed a lease such restless spirits.  It was so easy to do, I just got a panel of plywood from the shelving area of Lowes, some green spray paint and vinyl sticky letters.  I used stuff I found around the house to keep my lines straight and even (namely a cruise brochure, a piece of chalk and a giant post-it note… Yes, you can call me MacGyver) and stuck the letters directly to the plywood.  Then I sprayed on some primer, and then a couple layers of the green and, after the paint dried and the ENTIRE NEIGHBORHOOD came down off of our collective spray paint high, I peeled off the letters and there you have it.  Awesome.

In between the steps for that project, I sewed a quilt!  My new sewing machine was an absolute dream come true and did not jam up even once!!!!  I could fill an entire page with exclamation points for that.  So, I was able to sew it all in one weekend with minimal cursing and zero tears.  For material, I bought 7 flannel shirts and 2 flannel sheets from goodwill, washed them all in hot water and started cutting and sewing.  I will probably put up a tutorial this weekend for those of you who would like to make a nice flannelly quilt of your own.  I found some information online, but I wanted something a bit more modern looking, so I just winged it, and it came out really great. Don’t mind all the wrinkles–we have been using this on our bed for a week now, so it’s sort of rumpley now.  You get the idea, though.
quilt

It’s cute, right? 

Finally, I couldn’t resist taking a few pics of our paperwhites, which have blossomed so quickly into beautiful flowers, even if they do smell vaguely of cat urine.
paperwhites

People: SPRING IS NIGH!!

3 Responses to “Backlogged”


  1. 1 Retta March 5, 2010 at 1:38 pm

    Is there anything you can’t do?! I haven’t even figured out how to thread my sewing machine… let me rephrase that. I’m terrified of getting my sewing machine out of the box.

  2. 2 rosann March 5, 2010 at 9:34 pm

    Love love love your mantel board project…great.
    Your quilt is lovely. I can’t believe you did that in a weekend. Crazy fast.
    Those flowers do stinky poo don’t they. One of the boys brought them home to me when they were little, from school. Well, I put them on the table all happy. So pretty. But then I kept smelling a stinky poo smell and wondering what the ***? Only to discover my to my dismay it was my lovely flowers. But of course I kept them anyway. But never did I ever buy them!

  3. 3 hasenfefferinc March 9, 2010 at 3:06 pm

    Retta, I started with the dvd included with my machine, which was SO HELPFUL. I watched every single tutorial on there before I sewed even one stitch and it improved my experience greatly!


Leave a Reply

