Good morning starshine

On weekdays, I usually leave the house at 7:30 a.m.  Throughout the winter, I am already halfway to work when the sun finally clears the horizon, which means that I, like many morning commuters, watch the sun rise 5 days a week for about 5 months of the year, and oh my, it can be stunning.  However, waking up and getting ready in the dark is not easy for me.  Finally, this week, the sun rose when I did and the house was full of dewy, cool morning light by the time I left.  I am certainly not a morning person, but that quiet sunlight makes it worth it (although it would be nicer to watch that light while sipping tea in bed, just sayin”). 

David’s seedlings were enjoying the sun, too this morning, and will hopefully hold out for a few more weeks in their peat pots so that we can put them in their beds out back.

seedlings3

I think we have some four o’clocks, hollyhocks and black-eyed susans, here.  We’re also going to grow some veggies this year, but we’ll probably buy seedlings that have already been hardened, since this is our first time.

Although nature is currently outdoing me, I tried my hand at flower-making, too!  These are “dandylions” that I made by making two pompons and tying them to sticks I found out back.  Very high tech, I know.

pompons2

If you’re an early riser, I hope you’re enjoying your reunion with the morning sun, too!

0 Responses to “Good morning starshine”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

