Since June

Did I forget to mention that I would be taking a two month long blog vacation?  The truth is, I don’t do a lot of cooking or knitting in the summertime.  I was actually starting to get a little worried about myself last month–will I EVER knit again? why did I ever cook when frozen dinners are SO DELICIOUS?  If I would have sat down and thought about it for a minute, I would have realized that it is normal to avoid a hot stove and a lapful of wool when it’s 100 degrees outside.  Duh.

Also, I’m pregnant.  I KNOW.

21 weeks along and it has not exactly been a walk in the park for me, but I think the second half will be better than the first.  The first few months were sort of queasy, then I felt GREAT for approximately 1 week, which was when I must have accidentally ground poison ivy leaves into my forearms, because that is the only possible explanation of how I developed the blistered, oozing, flesh eating plague that has been occupying me for the past three weeks.  And the itching.  I can’t even describe it, except to say that there is no greater physical ecstasy than scratching poison ivy.  It is almost a religious experience, but eventually, you scratch down to your bone and you have to stop, and that’s when the itching really starts.

Anyway, my arms still look like I was the victim of a chemical burn, but I feel much better.  Better enough to knit stuff for the baby.  Let’s face it, knitters have babies mostly so that we can knit for them.

photo

Cabled babysocks!!!  And knee socks at that.  Did I mention that this kid will be born at the end of January?  PERFECT KNITTING WEATHER.

These are Four Seasons Cabled Baby Socks in Encore 75% acrylic/25% wool–and one of the wooliest feeling acrylic blends I have used.

photo

A baby bonnet!  This is actually the Top down bonnet with Anime Character, without the anime character, in Malabrigo Merino Worsted.  I changed the decreases, because they were looking weird, and instead of ties, I made a strap, because I feel like ties are strangley.

And one work in progress:
photo

This will be the Baby professor vest in Sublime 50% soya/50% cotton.  This will be in a good size for spring or fall 2011, depending on how big this baby ends up being.  David and I were both 9 pounders, so we’ll see.  Let’s not think about that just now, though, okay?

I’ve also made a few diaper covers, because we’ll be cloth diapering and apparently hand knit wool covers are the way to go.  I can’t believe my luck!  I’ll show those later, though, now that I’m back to regular posting.

2 Responses to “Since June”


  1. 1 The husband/babydaddy September 20, 2010 at 9:06 pm

    Welcome back to blogging.
    Love, Me

  2. 2 Retta September 23, 2010 at 6:33 am

    Congratulations!!! That baby is going to be the best dressed child around with all of these hand made goodies.


Leave a Reply

