Wooly Soakers

There is something strange about knitting something you know will get poop on it. We are going to use cloth diapers, so I’ve been knitting wool covers for them.  I, like you, have had my doubts about whether wool covers will actually work, but I have been reassured by the “cloth diapering community” that wool is the absolute best option.  Plus, pre-made wool covers run about $25-$40 each, so there must be something to it.  Apparently, wool can absorb a lot of liquid before feeling damp, is hypoallergenic, and is more breathable than synthetic options.  We shall see.  Anyway, so I’ve made these covers out of some of my favorite, gender neutral (not for long!!) yarns for this baby to pee and poop all over.  Hopefully, I won’t end up looking like a total schmuck at the end.

soaker 1

This is probably the most basic soaker pattern out there: Wool Diaper Cover in an unlabeled 100% wool yarn I got on clearance with the intention of trying out hand dyeing.  Turns out I like it best in white.

soaker 2

This is a super popular pattern on ravelry–the Curly Purly.  I used Manos del Uruguay that I got for Christmas from my mom and dad.  I still haven’t really decided on leg cuffs yet.

soaker 3

These are probably my favorite of the bunch because they don’t need to be pulled onto the baby.  The pattern is the WHW Plain Wrap and they basically look like regular diapers.  This is in Patons Classic Wool and that same white unmarked yarn.  Both are very sturdy, if not very soft, but they’re not too itchy.

And finally, my absolute favorite, which I will be making again, a bit smaller:
photo

The Kanoko pants in Cascade Eco+.  These kill me with the cuteness.  Instead of ribbing at the top, which is so bulky, I made a casing and will sew in an elastic band instead.  I used a thicker weight yarn with these, so they may not fit till next fall, but that’s the nice thing about knitting for babies–they will grow.

1 Response to “Wooly Soakers”


  1. 1 Anna September 26, 2010 at 6:21 pm

    I have a few “artificial” diapers left over from Elle Belle, can I use them? I think the wool covers are adorable and can’t wait to see the cute little grand-baby in them.
    Glad you came to your senses and started blogging again 🙂


Leave a Reply

